For Meg

(On her 6th birthday)

I will keep tying your hair in a bun

for as long as you need me to,

then only when you want me to, until

you can do it on your own

and remember

 

that even with one hand

and eyes closed, I manage

to twist those thick strands, turn them

round and round into a ball high up on top of your head,  

hold it there with six bobby pins and a hairnet so thin

you wonder how it can keep

as you do your pirouettes and pliés

 

but I tell you it will, and it always does.

 

You will forgive me for not knowing

how to tame your stubborn baby hair

just as I have long forgiven myself for not knowing

how to tame mine.

 

Even as you insist

you want your waves straight, no sooner traded pink for red

and now yellow, like it is commonplace

to change your young mind so fast, so soon,

I will tie your hair once more in a bun

 

today,

firmly in its place

so you can spin on and on and on

and know it is still there.

 

mom 040913

Published in: on April 9, 2013 at 7:36 am  Leave a Comment  

The URI to TrackBack this entry is: https://brushthedirtoff.wordpress.com/2013/04/09/for-meg/trackback/

RSS feed for comments on this post.

Leave a Reply

