Japan

There is no rubble before me.

 

I do not see

strewn remains of walls of homes

of bodies ravaged

swallowed by earth

swept away by sea.

 

I only have visions of a dance I was taught

when my eyes could still see

when my feet were bound

to make slow, deliberate steps

when my  hands were trained

to cut through the air with one graceful twist.

 

The drum rolls today

as did its beating more than once, in past

led me to move

to surrender

to something greater than myself,

than every man, woman or child.

 

Water pushes forth.

We are still.

 

There is no rubble before us.

 

In silence

we restore order within.

Our dance is greater than our grief.

Published in: on March 14, 2011 at 10:27 am  Comments (1)  

The URI to TrackBack this entry is: https://brushthedirtoff.wordpress.com/2011/03/14/japan/trackback/

RSS feed for comments on this post.

One CommentLeave a comment

  1. Lovely verses reflecting a truly Christian spirit of hope.
    of a faith that goes beyond the fragility of human existence, of a love that unites joy with sufferings — the Dance of the resurrected; the Phoenix of the redeemed.
    Dad


Leave a Reply

